## NOTE: Individual DPC committees for individual faculty are omitted from this website for privacy reasons

## Memorandum of Agreement School For Global Inclusion and Social Development-Impact bargaining related to move to CEHD

This memorandum of agreement (the "MOA") expresses the terms negotiated between the University of Massachusetts at Boston and the Faculty Staff Union (FSU/MTA). The terms of the MOA are outlined herein.

## **Personnel Committees**

- a. There will be no change to tenure and promotion expectations or to expectations for scholarship as a result of the transition of SGISD to CEHD.
- b. In the fall of 2019, CEHD's tenure stream faculty, with representation from SGISD, will engage in a shared governance process to modify CEHD's Constitution and bylaws in response to the incorporation of SGISD into the College. During that process, this group will revisit the promotion review process and overall membership to ensure that all tenure stream members of CEHD can participate in decisions affecting their responsibilities and careers.

During the 2019-2020 academic year, SGISD will be a school within CEHD, yet the Constitution will not reflect this addition. Therefore, there will be a 1 year temporary arrangement to ensure a transparent and equitable review process for SGISD faculty. CEHD's Bylaws indicate that "The CPC shall consist of seven members, two from each academic department and one at-large member representing all academic departments of the College" (Bylaws, VI.6.1). Given the addition of SGISD to CEHD, during the 2019-2020 academic year, CPC will include two additional faculty members from SGISD. The two additional faculty members will be identified and approved by SGISD tenure stream faculty.

The CEHD CPC for the coming academic year (2019-2020) will include the following faculty members:

CSP: Lisa Cosgrove, Boaz Levy

LE: John Saltmarsh, Kati Szelenyi C&I: Chris Denning, Pat Paugh SGISD: 2 faculty members to be determined by the SGISD faculty.

At large: Lusa Lo

## **Department Chair Duties**

The Director and Associate Dean for SGISD is Sheila Fesko, who after consultation with SGISD faculty, was appointed to this role. The administration re-affirms that Sheila Fesko has been duly and appropriately appointed to this role.

The School for the Environment, another academic unit without departments, does not have a department chair's level review for faculty personnel actions. Given this precedent, the administration and the faculty agree SGISD forgo department chair level reviews for all faculty major personnel reviews.

SGISD faculty, in collaboration with the director and the dean, shall develop a School mentoring plan for junior faculty and for associate professors considering a promotion petition. This plan, once approved, will be implemented by the School director.